No Fear Happy Hour: The Singani Sour

Do you have some food things that you’re convinced you wouldn’t like because they sound nasty? Probably. I think even the most open-minded eaters and drinkers have a couple of things that they just think sound gross.

One of the things I have had a hard time getting by is the idea of egg whites in drinks. It sounds gross and questionably sanitary. Then the last time that Roomie and I were in Las Vegas, we were in Comme Ca in the Cosmopolitan, which goes on the short list of Bars That Make Better Drinks Than I Can At Home, and the bartender had us try a cocktail (the New York Sour) that had egg white.

It was awesome.

And so I told myself that I would get over my prejudice and make an egg white cocktail here at The Aerie. Of course, I forgot for a while, but the other night I was thinking about what to have and decided to go south of the equator and make a version of the classic Pisco Sour – The Singani Sour. Singani is a grape brandy similar to Pisco, but made in Bolivia – you can see it used in a sidecar variation here.

The Singani Sour

  • 1.5 oz Singani (I used Casa Real)
  • 0.75 oz fresh lemon juice
  • 0.75 oz simple syrup
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 dashes bitters

Place the ingredients in a cocktail shaker with ice and shake it hard. Strain into a small cocktail class or coupe.

The Singani Sour

I have to say that the egg white imparts a remarkable texture and smoothness to the drink, and you have to like the egg-white head when you first make it. I think you can also make a version with fresh lime juice.

Delicious. And when’s the last time you had a protein-rich cocktail?

I think I have a lot of “sour” exploring to do.

14 thoughts on “No Fear Happy Hour: The Singani Sour

  1. The Clover Club has been a staple here for years. My cocktail drinking buddy has an aversion to egg whites much like yours, but the Clover Club has eased him over that hump :)

    1.5 oz gin
    .25 oz grenadine
    .75 oz lemon
    1 egg white

    I usually double the recipe but 1 egg white is still enough.

    • The other day, I almost bought the pasteurized egg whites in a jar, but I don’t have them all that often. And what could go wrong, right?

      Though I bet most bars used the jarred, pasteurized egg whites.

Leave a Reply

