Christmas Present

As I mentioned last month, this year the Beloved and I decided to stay put for Christmas and New Year’s.  What a treat!  On Christmas Eve, we met up with a couple of our best friends and exchanged gifts and shared a drink and snackers.  As the Beloved snoozed with dreams of sugarplum fairies, I watched “The Nativity Story” on HBO.  I thought this was a thoughtful telling of the story of Mary, Joseph and their trip to Bethlehem.  It wasn’t really “tense” per se’ – I’d heard the story before – but it was well done.

The morning was full of excitement as we opened stocking stuffers (after starting coffee of course!) by the fireplace (it wasn’t really cold, but we put the fireplace on anyway), and then moved out into living room for gifts.  After that, we had breakfast at our favorite spot to have our breakfast strata.  After that, we began to field the phone calls from family and friends (we’d turned off our phone/ringers earlier – we’re selfish that way) – there wasn’t even too much too-bad-you’re-not-here guilt making… :)

I think my favorite present was a Nambe cocktail shaker – very sleek and gorgeously designed.  I just loved it.  Plus, you can use it to make cocktails.  Bonus!

I, of course, forgot to take a lot of pictures during the day, but I can highly recommend one of the stocking stuffers that I received – grey salt dark chocolate caramels.  For anyone that digs the sweet-salty combo of chocolate covered pretzels – take my word on it, you won’t be disappointed.

The afternoon was spent relaxing and looking at the books and gadgets we’d received.  It was really wonderful.  We made a great turkey dinner (crispy skin!) with cranberry sauce, sweet potatoes and brussel sprouts, with pumpkin pie for dessert.  We played cards and relaxed and talked and laughed into the night – as always, it went by too fast, but  I wouldn’t have traded it for the world!

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

14 thoughts on “Christmas Present

  1. Great holiday! At times it is nice not to travel and get into the hassle of all that. I know I was exhausted!!!
    I do hate brussle sprouts with a passion though. I thought I had never met a veggie I didn't like but that one as one for certian.
    Happy New Year.

  2. I'm glad you had a great Christmas! It sounds so nice and relaxing. The cocktail shaker looks really fun – you'll have to blog some of your new creations. And those carmels sound heavenly! AND – I love brussels sprouts!

  3. I love that shaker! I need one, too, maybe I'll copy yours! We had a stay-at-home Christmas, too, but I can't say it was as relaxing as yours. Six grandkids under 26 months old doesn't make for a very quiet day. But, I can't complain, I had all my family under one roof and we had plenty of room to house anyone!

  4. To the brussel sprout haters — I, too, was in your camp, but have begun to enjoy them more and more. I wouldn't exactly say i SEEK them out, but once in a while they're ok.
    These were chopped into quarters (cooked in the microwave), added to cooked-rice, dusted with parmesan and had some good spicy horseradish added and baked in a caserole dish. I had two helpings.

  5. oh man, what a shaker! i would be over the moon if i had one like that! no wonder it's your favourite present!glad to know you've been having such a lovely time :) one of the downsides of not celebrating christmas is NO PRESENTS! *whinge* lol

Leave a Reply

