Tao-tini

I like a good drink every now and then(1).  This past Christmas, I mentioned that The Beloved gave me a sleek new cocktail shaker, and Mello suggested that I post any new drink creations.  I’ve been meaning to post this one for a couple of weeks.

One of the better dining experiences I had in 2007 was at the restaurant TAO, which is in the Venetian in Las Vegas.  The food was pan-Asian, inventive and delicious.  When we arrived we had cocktails, and Roomie and I tried the “house” martini – the Tao-tini – and really liked it.

On New Year's Eve, we decided to celebrate by trying to recreate the drink.  We were able to track down the components from a pdf of the restaurant’s menu, but not the proportions.

As a scientist, I’m always interested in a little empirical experimentation and so Roomie and I set out to recreate the TAOtini.  After a little trial and error (even the errors were pretty good…) here’s what we came up with:

1 part mandarin vodka
2 parts raspberry vodka
2 parts Malibu rum
½ part fresh lime juice
dash cranberry juice
Add all ingredients to a cocktail shaker filled with ice.  Shake vigorously for a few minutes.  Strain into chilled martini glass.

One of the nice things is that you can adjust the lime and cranberry juice content to fit your particular taste – I like the citrus of the lime more than sweet-tart of the cranberry.   A word of warning: this drink goes down pretty easily and you’ll be tempted to make another one right away.  Given that its nearly straight booze – eat some peanuts and wait a bit.

Cheers!

(1) “now” tends to be about 5:30 p.m., “then” seems to be about 6:15 p.m

 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

19 thoughts on “Tao-tini

  1. Alright, next time I'm out there, I demand this drink be made for me.Also, I'll demand to use the fun shaker thingie. And yes; I will refer to it as "the fun shaker thingie" and nothing else!It looks tasty! I'm a sucker for pink beverages.

  2. I don't even drink anymore, but that sounds awesome. And I love lime and cranberry. And vodka. And the mandarin/raspberry flavored vodka intrigues me. Maybe I should indulge. Even though I'm not supposed to drink w/ this medication.

  3. Sounds yummy! We found a cheap shaker ("cheap" in both senses of the term) in the after-Christmas clearance aisle at Target. We've been a little uninspired ever since I tried to make a Bloody Mary with V-8 and nearly got sick (and not even from the vodka; it was just gross). This one definitely sounds worth trying, though!

  4. When I asked for you house specialty, you should say "Tao-tini"… and not let me make a choice. However, I have to admit that my choice (based on a recommendation, and a taste test) was GREAT! Post those components and proportions.

  5. oooooooooooo yummmmy. i can't drink martinis, and that sounds lovely! why can't i drink them? one, and i'm on the floor. *lightweight*however, it'd be worth it for one of these. mmm.

  6. Never mind about the margarita. I want to try this. I love martinis (especially the ones that kind of sneak up on you, like peach and apple ones). Although it always makes me think of the Dorothy Parker poem.
    ("I'd like to have a martini,
    two at the very most.
    After three, I'm under the table;
    after four, I'm under the host.")

  7. I just
    want to emphasize the good work on this blog, has excellent views and a
    clear
    vision of what you are looking for.

    Properties

    in Samara
    Costa Rica

Leave a Reply

