Things on His Birthday

Today is my dad’s birthday.  He would have been 87 today.  It’s hard to believe that he died almost 10 years ago, and that he’s been gone the whole time I’ve been living in San Diego (since 2001).  That got me thinking about him and though I don't usually do the "Things on Tuesday" group, I ended up considering what he would have loved and loathed if he’d had a chance to visit us here this week for his birthday.

Things he’d loathe:
The crowded traffic.  Though he might like the tendency to use freeways over roads with streetlights, which is more common in NJ where we lived.  He could swear up a storm about the so-and-so traffic lights.
Streets with Spanish-derived names. "Caminito what?  What the hell’s a Via del la Valle?"
Starbucks coffee culture.  “We’re paying what for a cup of coffee??  Let’s just go to Dunkin Donuts”
That there are no Dunkin Donuts in San Diego.  See above.
People walking around with Bluetooth ear-pieces.  I have to say, this acorn hasn’t fallen far from the tree there.

Things he’d love:
Watching a baseball game on a high-definition tv.  Though to be honest, he could also swear up a storm at the so-and-so Phillies…
– Watching the hummingbirds dive bomb our feeder (and each other) while relaxing on our patio.  He always enjoyed sitting and relaxing with his family.
– That there are Law & Order episodes on around the clock in all different varieties.  My folks loved themselves those police/court procedurals.
– Evening at Powerhouse Park in Del Mar, hanging out and watching the sun set into the Pacific. That was one of my mom's favorite things to do when she was here, and I think he'd have loved it, too.
Seeing that I’ve reached a point in my adulthood where I am happy and healthy (if not quite wise-enough).
Getting to know The Beloved which is the thing he'd love most.  She and I didn’t know one another when he died.  He would have loved her, too!

Happy Birthday, Pop!  I miss you all the time.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

30 thoughts on “Things on His Birthday

  1. You made me tear up with your list (good tears!). This list is simply awesome.
    It sounds like the essence of your Dad is with you at all times. Thinking of you on your's Dad's birthday and smiling.

  2. I also teared up while reading this. For as highly as you speak both of your dad and of the Beloved, I'm sure they would have loved each other a lot.
    Thanks for sharing this list!

  3. I love that you have chosen a woman your dad would love. The greatest compliment I ever got from my father in law was that his father, the great family patriarch, would have loved me. A truly touching sentiment, indeed.
    Thanks for sharing your dad here … a wonderful tribute!

  4. What a neat way to remember your dad's birthday. I'm so glad as time goes by the pain of losing our loved ones can be replaced with found memories that can bring joy to our heart and a smile of the happy times we shared.

  5. [this makes me speechless] (well…almost!) GREAT post Steve, very touching and very relatable. I'm going to have to drive up to Dunkin Donuts now in honor of you and your father….I love that place!

  6. This was a great post and a great way to remember your dad. I can picture him sitting there in traffic talking about the Spanish street names. :)

Leave a Reply

