Slice of Life Saturday

We had a fairly busy but fun Saturday this past weekend that included a little domesticity, some art and some partying.

Early on, we were out the door (powered by French toast and bacon, because really what day doesn’t start better with bacon?) and off to The Container Store, one of the Beloved’s favorites.  One of our goals was to get a slide-out shelf for one of our kitchen cabinets, which we’d seen in a flyer.  They had several widths (10”, 14”, 17” and 21”), which brought on the following conversation:

S:  Which one do you think we should get?
B:  This one – the 17” one.
S:  That looks a little wide for our cabinet…
B:  Naw, it’ll be fine.
S:  You sure??  I think we should get the 14” one…
B:  Positive, the 17-inch is the one we need.*

After that, it was off to Balboa Park to go see "Art Alive" — the exhibition at the SD Museum of Art where floral arrangers create pieces "inspired" by some of the paintings there (of course you’re not supposed to photograph the exhibits…so I took pictures of the interior fountain surrounded by hydrangeas and a cool lattice window that I really liked).  It was packed, but a nice diversion, and it was a great excuse to go down to Balboa Park and walk around. 

 

We also stopped at the arboretum there, which is always kind of cool.

 

Lastly, we were off to a friend’s son’s birthday party down in Chula Vista – he was 2.  It was a great time with a fantastic spread of food.  The highlight for the kids was that there was a “Nemo” piñata that was filled to breaking with candy.

 

All in all a great way to spend a “regular” Saturday.

*FYI – We’ll be returning it for the 14" one next time we’re nearby.

Read and post comments

21 thoughts on “Slice of Life Saturday

  1. Holy cow!!!! He is already 2. We are getting old fast, aren't we?I love your pictures of BP. It is one of the places that I really like there. The 'Tainer Store rocks! I could go in there an buy so much… and you should have listened to The Beloved. She ALWAYS knows best!

  2. Holy cow!!!! He is already 2. We are getting old fast, aren't we?I love your pictures of BP. It is one of the places that I really like there. The 'Tainer Store rocks! I could go in there an buy so much… and you should have listened to The Beloved. She ALWAYS knows best!

  3. You know the joke about why women can't measure things, right?
    Because they think that (*and now you have to envision me holding up my fingers about six inches apart*) is eight inches.
    Sorry.

  4. oh my gosh. i LOVE the container store!!!the weekend sounds like a great time :) did you guys get to take home any of the candy out of the pinata? :P hehe.

  5. I stand corrected. I was a bit confused by the S and B… since both of you are S's and B's I got the notation wrong, and I assumed that the Beloved would be correct. *sigh* my preconceived notions come to the surface.

Leave a Reply

