Go See WALL-E

I had a whole idea for Me & My Monday, but of course I forgot my camera today.  So, instead of that, I offer a rare movie review.  The Beloved and I realized the other day that we don’t go out to see movies all that often.  Apparently, we prefer staying in our own backyard and having happy hour to the maddening crowds.

This weekend though, we were both interested and excited to see the latest release from Pixar, WALL-E.  This movie is remarkable.  Of course it is replete with the mind boggling animation (can we call it animation anymore?) that looks more real than most over-FX’d movies that include actual people that we expect from Pixar, but its so much more than eye-candy.  To me, this one is near that "Finding Nemo" pinnacle.

WALL-E tells the story of an industrious trash-picking-up robot (who's developed a few idiosyncrasies) that works in New Jersey on an apocalyptic future Earth that humans have fled because of trash and pollution (but it was probably based on the stretch of the NJ Turnpike from say, exits 9 through 16).  Perhaps the most remarkable thing about the movie is that essentially has no dialog.  The robot stars are anthropomorphized for sure, but this is the best example of visual story telling I’ve seen since Buffy the Vampire Slayer’s episode “Hush” – without the creepy evil or sexual innuendo.

I won’t give away the plot or resolution (they pulled one punch that would have really made this movie transcend all family fare, but I can’t nit-pick their choices…), but as with Pixar stories they wrap the Big Themes around very small personal stories, and this is no different.  There are also enough inside jokes to keep adults happy.

This one sure was.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

15 thoughts on “Go See WALL-E

  1. Janie and I are going to take the kids to see this when they return from their respective parents. I'm having a hard time waiting however, and am tempted to go see it without them. I can enjoy it twice, right?

  2. We saw it yesterday. I think that stretch of highway is actually in Emeryville, California – better known as the maze, which surrounds the port of Oakland.

  3. Hey, I have a babysitting gig for you all lined up. It will free up my time so I can go see Wall-e. I can't wait for it to be out on DVD so I can watch it. It will be a while *sigh*

  4. Okay, I'm gonna try and contain my inner little kid here, but……I'M SO EXCITED TO SEE WALL-E I'M GOING TO EXPLOOOOOOODE!!!!I'm patiently waiting till Brian comes out here to visit (hopefully it'll still be in theaters in early August?!), but I have been looking forward to this movie since I first heard about it ages ago. With the exception of Cars, which I don't really care to see, I pretty much can't miss a Pixar movie. (Btw, have you checked out the DVD of Pixar shorts going all the way back to the early 80s? Even the stuff they were doing then was incredible.)So. Excited.

  5. because i never watch TV (except for the occasional Food Network or TiVo'ed show) anymore, and because i don't listen to the radio either, i have absolutely no knowledge about this WALL-E movie. same thing happened with Indiana Jones, and the surprises going into it were fantastic. i think i need to see WALL-E soon before i learn too much about it. :)

  6. WALL-E was the best movie I've seen in forever. I thought it was absolutely stunning. I can't remember the last time human actors made me ache like a computer-animated robot!
    And this is coming from the girl who wanted to HATE IT because her ex-boyfriend works for Pixar. Bastard.
    But seriously. WALL-E was superb.

  7. Wow. Your ex works for PIXAR?? How cool!! Wait — I mean, JERK! It really was excellent and I find myself thinking about more since i've seen it than I thought I would. I think we're most definitely going to add that to our DVD collection.

  8. Saw it week or so ago. Still amazed at how good it was. The subtleties in the movie were simply amazing. There has to be a Miyazaki inspiration somewhere, esp with the underlying deeper message and multiple levels of interest.Heard this story that apparently WALL-E was born out of a brainstorm at PIXAR that happened right after Toy Story.

Leave a Reply

