“P’s” in a Pod

So, I’ll be honest with you… I get really nervous before meeting folks from vox in person for the first time… like really nervous.  Why?  I don’t know, I just do – nervous and excited.

During the tour, one of the legs of our journey took us from where my sis lives (western Maryland) to northeastern Virginia. So I was nervous and excited to write Java Janie to see if she and any available “P’s” were available and interested in meeting for lunch* — and they were!  Now both Janie and Grandma-P have already posted about it, but I’m going to, too…

The Beloved and I pulled into the parking lot, and there was Janie – and it’s a weird déjà vu feeling of “I know her!” – I guess because you really do!  Grandma-P joined us and we had a fun lunch at a Mexican restaurant.  It really is amazing – we fell right into conversation like old friends.  Steve (the Champ) made a Herculean effort to break away from work and join us (thanks Steve!) towards the end of our time at the restaurant.

We also invaded Gary’s workplace for a while so that we had a chance to say hi in person (he wasn’t able to get away for lunch when we were meeting…).  Three hours went by incredibly quickly and it was a bit of a bittersweet so-long (various duties and drives were beckoning), b/c I think we could have gone on and on for several more hours.

People have occasionally asked me – well, what is blogging good for? — and I can tell you, if doing this can lead to making friends like the “Ps”, its well worth the effort.

 

*Ironically, a day or two before, I’d helped Janie craft a “thanks, but no thanks” response to someone from vox (that she didn’t know that well at all) that had wanted to get together.  I was immediately worried that she might turn my own words against me!! ;)

Read and post comments

13 thoughts on ““P’s” in a Pod

  1. Oh, wow! I am so jealous that they got to meet you in person! Now I just have to make that trip to California soon so I don't feel left out. Grrrrrrrrr. Love the photograph — everyone looks so delighted! I have never met anyone I've encountered online in person (primarily because of distance — there are many I would just love to meet). I can imagine it must be a freaky experience. You know them possibly better than some of their real-life friends do but you've never met them before — very weird, but very exciting to finally get together. I'm just really glad all of you had such a good time. Still jealous.

  2. Janie, Steve and Gary are fantastic. :)
    Hopefully the next time you and the Beloved are on this side of the country, you can make it to Baltimore. (We have Mexican food, too.) ;)
    I always get nervous, too. I'm always pretty sure that people will think I'm lame.

  3. A great time indeed! Thanks for taking the time out of your schedule to meet up. Hopefully we'll make it out to California for the next meetup!

  4. A great time indeed! Thanks for taking the time out of your schedule to meet up. Hopefully we'll make it out to California for the next meetup!

  5. Yay! Good times! I know what you mean about the deja vu feeling. I second time I met up with Steve and Janie last summer they actually ended up spending the night kind of spur-of-the-moment. Esther was there too. It was about 1am, all the kids had gone to bed, we all were sitting in the kitchen talking and I suddenly started laughing because it was like, "Steve and Janie are in my kitchen!" and I felt like I knew everything about their lives but we'd just met.

  6. Yay! Good times! I know what you mean about the deja vu feeling. I second time I met up with Steve and Janie last summer they actually ended up spending the night kind of spur-of-the-moment. Esther was there too. It was about 1am, all the kids had gone to bed, we all were sitting in the kitchen talking and I suddenly started laughing because it was like, "Steve and Janie are in my kitchen!" and I felt like I knew everything about their lives but we'd just met.

  7. I know that nervous feeling too. There's an online group of 9 of us that have known each other since 1999/2000. It's how I know Janie (as in java) & Heather (as in jacolily). The first time I met any of them in real life except Heather, we were all together in New Hampshire! It was very nerve-wracking. Until we all were together, of course…then it was awesome. It's an I-know-them-but-maybe-I-don't-really-know-them feeling.

  8. I guess it's not that surprising, we get to hand-pick the coolest folks across the country to be our friends, and vice versa. I hope that my Vox meetups go half this well. ;)

Leave a Reply

