Booking Through Thursday — Best

What, in your opinion, is the best book that you haven’t liked? Mind you, I don’t mean your most-hated book–oh, no. I mean the most accomplished, skilled, well-written, impressive book that you just simply didn’t like.
Like, for movies–I can acknowledge that Citizen Kane is a tour de force and is all sorts of wonderful, cinematically speaking, but . . . I just don’t like it. I find it impressive and quite an accomplishment, but it’s not my cup of tea.
So . . . what book (or books) is your Citizen Kane?

While I nearly received a public shunning after a recent revelation regarding my lack of enthusiasm for Douglas Adams, when I think about the most acclaimed book that I liked the least, the balance tips to another Adams.  John.

John Adams

David McCullough

I really like history.  I was a history minor.  I love the intersection of how individuals shape history against the backdrop of great events.  And yet…..I found “John Adams” so stultifyingly dull that I punted.  Put it away unfinished – something I almost NEVER do.
We watched the HBO mini-series (which I thought was good) and I felt like I was cheating on a book report.
BTT link here.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

14 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday — Best

  1. My ninth grade American History teacher made us watch Citizen Kane. I was bored to tears. I'm not sure my reaction would be any different now.
    There are tons of books that have been critically acclaimed or hailed as classics that I just didn't like. In fact, there are too many to list. :)

  2. Bravo. I am so sick of people who tell others what to like. When I told my friends that I don't like the Beatles, (that poor insect's name never was spelled right after that band came along), my friends responded with, "How can you not like the Beatles"? Uuhhh, because I have a personality, because music is an art, because I have a brain, should I keep going?
    It's harder with books like Silent Spring which I found as interesting as watching paint dry (read Carson's bio though, much more compelling) because those in the academic community consider it necessary, not to be enjoyed.
    My late uncle also used to swear we were descendents of Robert Livingston, but he may have said that just so I'd take a History class LOL

  3. I've never been much of one for the classics, outside of frilly poetry, Restoration plays, and Chaucer (in the original Middle English, even!). But yanno what book most people of my age group/generation/whathaveyou love that I cannot stand?
    Catcher in the Rye. I can't stand that godawful book. I spent most of it wishing Holden would just shut the hell up and deal. Ugh. I hate that book.
    I really enjoyed the miniseries as well. I'd like to try the book, but I haven't been much of one for anything to dense lately.

  4. I watched the movie too, and loved it. Never read the book, though, guess I'll save myself the trouble.My most hated, well written book was Atlas Shrugged. It was all I could do to get through it.

  5. Like you, I almost never stop reading a book once I've started. But, hey, life's too short. Thanks for the warning – I'll stick with the mini-series.

  6. I guess probably the Lord of the Rings–I barely made it through the prologue before I gave up. I may try again later but probably not.
    I disagree with the Citizen Kane comparison in the question, but that's because I thought it was an amazing movie. (Probably not deserving to be named the best movie ever twice by AFI, but still absolutely phenomenal.)

  7. wait. you don't like citizen kane? hehe :P i can't think of a single book that i've started that i didn't like… i'm sure there has got to be at least one or two, but my memory is SO VERY BAD. :(

  8. He lived to be 90 years old, the amazing fact is that Adams and Jefferson both died on July 4, 1826 [50 years after the signing of the Declaration of Independence]. And they became friends after being bitter rivals.

  9. Kelly — the funny thing is I re-read LoTR when I was 30 (I gobbled them up as a teenager, of course) with a little trepidation. I thought I might not like them as much. I still did enjoy them — but I do admit to skimming through some of the longer genealogy-laden parts!

Leave a Reply

