Booking Through Thursday — 5 for Favorites

BTT was a meme this week:

1. Do you have a favorite author?
Yes.  I have to say that my favorite author is probably Joyce Carol Oates.  Though rarely uplifting, I think she captures the “grey” in life as well as the things in peoples’ private hearts – their fears, hopes, lusts, disappointments and even occasionally fleeting joy.  My favorites are: “We Were The Mulvaneys”, “What I Lived For” and “American Appetites”.
2. Have you read everything he or she has written?
Good lord, no.  JCO is probably one of the most prolific writers of this half-century.  She’s written over 50 novels and maybe an equal number of short-story collections.  What to choose next is probably the harder question.
3. Did you LIKE everything?
No.  I really disliked “Zombie”, which was took us into the head of a serial killer.  Gross.  I think she based it on Jeffrey Dahmer.  Ick.
4. How about a least favorite author?
Maybe Dan Brown.  That’s an awful lot of money for not very good writing.
5. An author you wanted to like, but didn’t?
The one I always expected to like but didn’t was Ann Rice.  Not sure why, I like horror in general, but I never really cared for anything that she wrote – I tried  the “Vampire” books and was completely meh.  I liked the first 2/3 of “The Witching Hour” but disliked the end so much I’ve never gone back.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

11 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday — 5 for Favorites

  1. I love JCO, too. My sis-in-law just plain refuses to read her books on the basis that they are dark and horrible. I completely agree with your summary of her books, their emotions. Our libraries here don't seem to stock many of her books. I always check used book shops and only ever find the same few if any at all. I would love to read more since I have only read maybe 6+.

  2. The first two thirds of the witching hour trilogy or the first book.
    The best rice vampire novel would have to be The Vampire Lestat. I liked all of them, although I was young and unread when I picked them up. Maybe I would have a different perspective now.

  3. Joyce Carol Oates came to speak at Purdue last year. I was required to attend for my Creative Writing class. I ended up feeling really crappy and going to the bar instead. Such a model student!

Leave a Reply

