Vox Hunt: Holiday. Celebrate.

Show us a picture from your favorite vacation.

In 2005 (pre-blog, hard to believe!), we took a wonderful vacation to Kauai.  We rented a great little house, right along a rocky shore. (if you know the island, it’s between Poipu and Spouting Horn).

Since the house had a kitchen, we weren’t forced to eat-out every day and enjoyed a number of hours relaxing, reading, and watching the sea turtles.

Actually, I think our love of having happy-hour together may have started there as I learned to make a pretty good mai-tai for us to share while basking in the setting sun — maybe that's why I love this picture so much.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

18 thoughts on “Vox Hunt: Holiday. Celebrate.

  1. Steve, you have no idea how good that looks to me right now (freezing rain ice storm here in New Freezingland)!
    We have found that hotels with kitchens are so much more relaxing. It saves money and we can just enjoy the sands, ocean and each other without having to find a restaurant each night.
    That is such a gorgeous picture. Did you take this??

  2. Yep — we went out for a couple of nice meals, but I really liked going-and-doing for part of the day, and coming "home" and relaxing. We'd stop at the market and grill some fish.

  3. Mrs.S (written while turning green with envy and sad little quiver in my chin) – can I come too? Alas, for me, it will be at least another year :(Steve – awesome photo. It took me back and even if it's just in my mind, it's still a great place to go.

  4. You may be aware of vacationrentals.com I discovered it this year. It beats the hell out of staying in a hotel and I prefer to cook and have a real kitchen. So nice to have laundry appliances too. Also my son needs his own bedroom, his being a man. I often find houses about the same price as a Holiday Inn Express per night. I love being able to strew my stuff everywhere, too. One we stayed in, in the desert, in the middle of nowhere, had a fabulous woodstove and a huge kitchen. It was wonderful. And think of all the energy saved!

  5. Happy to help. I just wish I had discovered it sooner than I did. By the way, most houses provide all the linens and blankets you will need, dishes, cookware, utensils, even some have dvds and books.

Leave a Reply

