2008 Meme

A few other folks in my neighborhood have done this one.  I sort of liked it:

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?  Oh – a few things… mostly involving work or travel.  How about combining one.  Gave a scientific presentation at a major international meeting.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?  I didn’t really make any last year, and this year the only thing I want to do is get back down to my “fighting weight” – which would be about 15-20 pounds.  I’ve slacked off too much on the exercise.  Boo.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?  Several people actually.  Late ’07 – early ’08 must have been a fertile time.

4. Did anyone close to you die?  No, thankfully.

5. What countries did you visit?  Germany.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?  More focus on keeping up with exercise and not allowing myself to get easily distracted by bright, shiny objects.

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? September 26th – that was the day I sprang our Secret Weekend in Chicago on The Beloved.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?  Probably work-related which I won’t go into here… also posting every day for NaBloPoMo… ;)

9. What was your biggest failure?  Dropping out of my running habit.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Not really.

11. What was the best thing you bought?  My piano.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?  So many people.  I have so many great friends, I feel really blessed and I feel a little guilty that I don’t give as good as I get.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?  Political pundits.

14. Where did most of your money go?  Two big expenditures this year – our yard re-do and the piano.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?  Traveling – seeing new places, meeting new friends.  And the piano.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?  “I Will Possess Your Heart” – Death Cab For Cutie

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?  Happier – I’ve got it pretty damn good.
b) thinner or fatter?  Fatter.  That’s gotta get fixed.
c) richer or poorer?  Counting retirement funds?  Poorer.  Otherwise, pretty much break even.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?  Exercised.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?  Stressed out about less-important things.

20. How did you spend Christmas?  Relaxing at home with the Beloved.

21. Did you fall in love in 2008?  Does falling MORE in love count?

22. What was your favorite TV program?  Here.  Oh – and I forgot to mention in that post, the HBO drama “In Treatment”.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?  I don’t really hate anyone, thankfully.

24. What was the best book you read?  Here.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?  Really didn’t add that much music from new artists.  Maybe The Weepies, or Adele.

26. What did you want and get?  To love and be loved.

27. What did you want and not get?  Nothing really.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?  Here.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?  The Beloved was traveling back from a business trip and I actually had a business dinner on my birthday.  Hrm.  I turned 43.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?  Immeasurably?  Nothing.  Not gaining the weight that I did would have been nice.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?  I’m not really sure that I have one, except that I want to dress in a way that The Beloved is happy to have me on her arm.

32. What kept you sane?  Happy Hour.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?  I kind of have a man-crush on Bobby Flay.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?  Prop-8.

35. Who did you miss?  I miss my friend.  A few frenetic hours per year is not enough.

36. Who was the best new person you met?  That’s an odd question?  New people?  Probably some of the new folks in my vox-neighborhood.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.  Kill The Mammoth.   This was something we said at work to make sure that we kept our focus on the most important goal.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

Isn’t it funny?
Isn’t it funny?
Isn’t it simple, after all?
–Lucy Wainwright Roche, Chicago

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

14 thoughts on “2008 Meme

  1. I just love your down to earth attitude. Oh, nothing really, just travelled the world, learned piano and presented at an international meeting….sheesh! Forget the meme, you should write a book!
    Exercise this year has been really BLAH for me. I need to shake up my routine or find a robot that exercises for me or something. I might join a gym but I bet I would spend time avoiding it (most likely rebel by running for free outdoors instead, which would work only would be costly….)

  2. Did anyone close to you give birth? Several people actually. Late ’07 – early ’08 must have been a fertile time.I'd check my aftershave if I were you…John

Leave a Reply

