Old Brown Dog Wins Westminster, Eutaw Rejoices

It was a big night at The Aerie last night as the pack settled in to watch the end of the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show.  There was a lot of worry in the house as group after group was won by something that I’ll refer to as “not a real dog”.

We were resigned that the Giant Schnauzer (who we admitted did pretty good) was going to take home the title of Best In Show, when the judge picked (by apparently a big surprise) a 10-year-old Sussex Spaniel named Stump, who’d been out of the show-biz for 5 years after nearly dying from a bacterial infection.

He was the oldest dog ever to win the competition and the only brown-dog in the final seven.

Our own old, brown dog was completely overcome with excitement.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

15 thoughts on “Old Brown Dog Wins Westminster, Eutaw Rejoices

  1. Awww. This made me feel all warm and squishy. :)No no, I've just got something in my eye, don't mind me, just these ah… *sniffle* …contacts actin' up again…

  2. [this is still good and i'm commenting again] Also, "Stump" is an amazing name for a dog.Btw, did you notice that on that link for Stump, his sex is listed as "dog"?

  3. aw, my heart would have been all for the giant schnauzer because I'm schnauzer partial (have 2 mini's) your dog is adorable with the little gray hairs on his chin

  4. We used to have a kennel and bred champion Pekingese and English Toy Spaniels. First, let me say that his sex is listed as "dog" because that is what males are called, the only other choice being "bitch," as that is what females are called.Secondly, I realize the Standard Poodle's haircut is kind of silly, but it's meant to keep the joints warm. If you've ever been around a standard poodle you'd know, they are "real dogs." They are really playful and smart. Smaller poodles, notsomuch.

  5. PLL — thanks for clearing up the sex = dog thing. I would not have guessed that. And yes, everything I've read suggests that standard poodles are great dogs and good family pets. I could just never ever do that do my dog.

Leave a Reply

