Eutaw Red Sky

It was a sad day at The Aerie Tuesday as we made the choice to put our wonderful old dog Eutaw to sleep.  Over the last few weeks, she’d developed a very aggressive tumor in her mouth and jaw that quickly outpaced our ability to remedy it.  A small blessing was that she was in real discomfort for only a few days.

She was a remarkable dog – we called her a Miracle of Nature – and she was the Beloved’s friend and companion for sixteen and a half years.  I was lucky enough to have her be a part of my life for the last five or six years.

Her most amazing achievement may have been turning this old guy that’d never had a pet in his life into a dog-lover.

Bye Brownie, you will be missed.

Read and post comments

40 thoughts on “Eutaw Red Sky

  1. My thoughts are with you & your wife, Steve. We had to do the same thing to our Rufus 2 years ago, after having him for almost 13 years. They get into your heart & become part of your family.

  2. My thoughts are with you & your wife, Steve. We had to do the same thing to our Rufus 2 years ago, after having him for almost 13 years. They get into your heart & become part of your family.

  3. Aw, I'm really sorry. I feel almost like I've gotten to know Eutaw. Dogs are such beautiful animals — nothing is the same as the sort of quiet, unconditional love and affection you get from a dog. May Eutaw go to the land of endless walks and squeaky toys.

  4. Oh Steve, so sorry for the dog-shaped-space in your hearts right now. I'm so glad she taught you to love dogs, though. I'm hoping some pooch will come along and teach me the same one day.

  5. Oh Steve, so sorry for the dog-shaped-space in your hearts right now. I'm so glad she taught you to love dogs, though. I'm hoping some pooch will come along and teach me the same one day.

  6. Goodbye, Eutaw. Such a tough decision for you. She will surely be missed, but it's clear she was a wonderful companion and you'll have many good memories.

  7. I'am so sorry for the loss of Eutaw.Our pets are like family,and we are left with
    a large void in our heart and home when there gone. But praise the Lord for the
    memories.

  8. Oh, Steve, I'm so sorry for you and the Beloved!
    I think the only consolation when losing a pet is to focus on the great life you gave her. (And of course, all the happiness she brought you).

  9. It's such a sad day when we realize we can't help them anymore. I'm so sorry for you and your Beloved, and hope the happy memories will outweigh the sad ones very soon.

  10. Oh, Steve — I'm so sorry to hear about Eutaw. I felt like I knew her through your posts. After going through the same thing in the last year, my heart is with you and the Beloved.

  11. I'm so sorry. I had to euthanize my beloved Labrador, Lucky, back in August, just a week after my birthday. I know what you are feeling. He was my best friend and I miss him terribly.

  12. As I mentioned yesterday, my heart is totally with you guys. I'm still sad for your loss but am glad that Eutaw wasn't in much discomfort at the end. Thank you for sharing these pictures — they are wonderful.

  13. Oh, so sorry Steve. What a beautiful old girl. I have an elderly dog too (who actually pre-dates my husband and children) so trying to mentally prepare myself for the fact that she may not be around for too much longer. :(

  14. Oh, so sorry Steve. What a beautiful old girl. I have an elderly dog too (who actually pre-dates my husband and children) so trying to mentally prepare myself for the fact that she may not be around for too much longer. :(

  15. Thank you guys so much. It's been a very sad week for us, but we do take a lot of solace from knowing that Eutaw had such a great, long life. She was a real sweetheart.

  16. I'm totally behind in my blog reading. I heard from Jim about Eutaw! So sorry! She was a great dog. I always enjoyed the pictures and stories that you posted about her. Thanks for your condolences on Brewster – we know how you and your wife feel!

  17. I'm totally behind in my blog reading. I heard from Jim about Eutaw! So sorry! She was a great dog. I always enjoyed the pictures and stories that you posted about her. Thanks for your condolences on Brewster – we know how you and your wife feel!

Leave a Reply

