St. Patrick’s Week Happy Hour: The Blarney Stone

Thinking back on this week, I have to say that I’ve never had a green beer.  Why?  Because it’s kind of hokey.  Now, that doesn’t mean that a week that centers on celebrating our Irish heritage (no matter how large or small the percentage…) shouldn’t have a specialty drink or two.  And no, I’m not talking about a Shamrock Shake – I’m talking about a very good cocktail named after the famous Irish attraction, The Blarney Stone.
It’s a pretty simple drink, actually.  Take:
3 oz Irish whiskey
1/2 oz citronage (or cointreau or triple-sec)
1/2 oz herbsaint (or absinthe)
dash of bitters
Mix in a glass with ice, or shake over ice and serve up.

As this is a pretty darn potent potable, we prefer ours on the rocks.  And certainly after one, you might be amazed how great you think your powers of persuasion might be.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

10 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Week Happy Hour: The Blarney Stone

  1. This sounds like something that will help you get over that pesky DUI limit very fast! It also sounds and looks a lot better than any green beer I have ever seen (which I have never tried because green beer just doesn't sound good).

  2. I've never had green beer either!That drink looks really good…. I can't drink whiskey, though. I can't get past the smell of it… Even the slightest whiff makes me feel queasy. I know… so lame! hehe.

  3. I need to go out one night and just try new drinks and find some good ones. A couple dozen ought to do. Oh, I metabolize alcohol at an alarming rate. I'm the guy you don't want to go drinking with if you aren't a heavily seasoned drinker. LOL.

  4. I need to go out one night and just try new drinks and find some good ones. A couple dozen ought to do. Oh, I metabolize alcohol at an alarming rate. I'm the guy you don't want to go drinking with if you aren't a heavily seasoned drinker. LOL.

Leave a Reply

