New Eras?

There was an interesting bit of news on Sunday even after the Easter candy had been snacked on and all the earthquakes and aftershocks had done their rattling – and it was a pretty seismic shift if you’re at all interested in the NFC East.  Eagles quarterback Donovan McNabb was traded to the Washington Redskins.  The Redskins?  Seriously?
 
All the Eagles' faithful had known that McNabb's time in Philly was up.  With one (expensive) year left on his contract before he became a free agent, the Eagles could either renegotiate and/or extend his contract or try and get something for him now.  They made their plans crystal clear when they re-upped both Kevin Kolb and Michael Vick.
There had been talk of the Bills or the Raiders or maybe the Rams — any of which would have been met with "Good luck.  Thanks for all the mostly good memories."  But when it came out Sunday that McNabb was going to the Redskins, it was most certainly a big head-scratcher.  As an Eagles fan, I don't really question moving on from McNabb, but you have to question the wisdom of improving a rival you have to play twice a year.  Wow.

For the Eagles, the past 10 years have been about McNabb, Brian Dawkins and Brian Westbrook.  Those guys provided a lot of wins, but now all of them are gone and it's time to get younger — this is now Kevin Kolb's, DeSean Jackson's and LeSean McCoy's team.  Looking at it as objectively as I can, I think the Eagles went from a WC-ish team to what exactly? I still think they're a WC-ish team.
For the Redskins, I think McNabb is certainly an upgrade from Jason Campbell, but for how long? At best, the often-injured McNabb has 3 or 4 good seasons left (and make sure you have a capable back-up).  It will be interesting to see him play in a system that's not ostensibly "west coast" in style and where he might be actually be supported by a committed running game.

So to my dear Redskin-fan readers, I ask: what do you think?  Good thing?  Bad thing?  Too short-term?  You're going to get a "groove" player — one that can torch a "D" when he's on and then be infuriatingly inconsistent with the turf balls and rocketing short passes two yards behind open receivers.
Though he tended to come up short in the big games, I've always liked McNabb. There will be a big part of me that's rooting for him even when he dons the burgundy and gold — no matter how weird that looks.
For 14 of 16 games, that is.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

13 thoughts on “New Eras?

  1. not a Redskin-fan, but I found McNabb's trade strange.I haven't followed the news, is McNabb set to be the 'Skins primary QB?if Vick gets to be Da Birdz primary QB, they are going to be hard to watch….yeah, yeah, he paid his debt to society yaddayaddayadda. still don't like to see his ugly mug.

  2. not a Redskin-fan, but I found McNabb's trade strange.I haven't followed the news, is McNabb set to be the 'Skins primary QB?if Vick gets to be Da Birdz primary QB, they are going to be hard to watch….yeah, yeah, he paid his debt to society yaddayaddayadda. still don't like to see his ugly mug.

  3. Let's not forget who coaches the Redskins. He's a might fine quarterbacks coach. I scratched my head too and also went "not the Redskins", but realized that Shanahan has a history with old quarterbacks.

  4. There had been rumors flying for a while, surrounding Childress of course. Some said that their connection would make it a natural move for McNabb, and some saying there's no way the Eagles would let us have him because of Childress. I don't know the background behind that one, but Joey swears up, down, & sideways that that's what he heard. But then how much can you trust a ten-year-old? :)

  5. It'll be odd seeing him in those colors, but I'll be cheering for him, too. McNabb has ended up on my fantasy football team on many an occasion – not only because I think he's been a decent point scorer for me, but because I genuinely like rooting him on.

  6. It'll be odd seeing him in those colors, but I'll be cheering for him, too. McNabb has ended up on my fantasy football team on many an occasion – not only because I think he's been a decent point scorer for me, but because I genuinely like rooting him on.

Leave a Reply

