Friday Drabble: Yellow

A few weeks ago, Ross started the Friday Drabble – a drabble being a very short story of exactly 100 words.  Feel free to join in and write your own 100 word stories on Fridays, and tag them with “friday drabble”.  Link to them in the comments here,  or at Ross’ post and/or on Twitter with the hashtag #fridaydrabble.  Go on, give it a try.
Yellow
That day, the sunflower looked down and noticed a lone dandelion in his plot.  He’d seen them before – a countless number in the fields beyond the Garden.
“You don’t belong here,” he told the dandelion.
“Why not?” the dandelion asked, “I am a yellow flower much like you.”
“Like ME?!?!” the sunflower exclaimed, incredulously. “I am the tallest, most beautiful flower and loved most of all by the Gardener.  Mark me, she will come and root you out with hand and hoe and bitter poison.”
Later, the dandelion contemplated the decapitated, dying stalk.  The Gardener had come with her shears.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

8 thoughts on “Friday Drabble: Yellow

  1. Poor sunflower. This little story reminds me of Aesop's Fables. I still read them, and I am anxiously awaiting a time when I can read them to my kid so she will understand the stories. I think I may have to add this one too!

  2. Nice!Ross' "All for the want of a horseshoe nail" reminds me of a time when my friends and I, at university suffering ennui, went through the alphabet composing entirely alliterative sentences. Our favorite was:.uscious .inda .ustfu..y .icked .anky .ione.'s .ong .emon .o..ipop.
    :)

Leave a Reply

