True Lab Stories: Volume 1

So, starting a new company can be interesting as a few of us old warhorses necessarily are spending a lot more time in the lab than we have in a while.
Today, our founder was grousing about an experiment that had gone awry.  It wasn’t a big deal, probably cost him a day or two, tops.

These things happen from time to time, so I looked up from my own experiment and asked him, “Why so annoyed? Aren’t you doing science?”  
He replied, “I expect everything to work the first time, every time.”
“Where you been working?” I snorted.
“Management!” he replied.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

11 thoughts on “True Lab Stories: Volume 1

  1. I find that I spend a lot of time on autopilot, and on the rare occasion that something goes wrong I'm always surprised, because I tend to trust my intuition implicitly.

Leave a Reply

