Avo Nice Day!

If you enjoy freshly made guacamole like I do*, or avocado slices on your sandwiches or salads, chances are the avocado that you had on it was grown right here in San Diego (more than half of avocados grown in the US are grown in San Diego county).
So brimming with local-pride last Sunday, the Beloved and I drove a little ways north to the town of Fallbrook (in the heart of avo country), which was hosting its annual Avocado Festival, which we had never before attended (or heard of, honestly).

What we had thought was going to be maybe a block or two of guacamole stands and avocados for sale turned out to be a MAJOR street fair that went for blocks and blocks with all sorts of food and games for kids, crafts, community organizations, home repair services, and did I forget the food? And of course, avocados!

We were very excited to try the “Winningest Guacamole in History” – which was pretty darn tasty and chunky.   We also tried the avocado ice cream, which we thought could have used a little more avocado-ness in it.

We passed on the avocado fudge.  We’d heard there would be fried avocados, but couldn’t find a stand with any.
Yum

It was a gorgeous day to walk around and enjoy seeing all the activity and the fair provided great people-watching.  
We ended up scoring some free decals, and bought an avocado Christmas ornament, a coffee mug and “Avocadude” t-shirts (which we thought was the best of the avocado-themed wear) – and of course, a few avocados!
*and when I was growing up, I thought guac was “nasty” – probably because it was a tasteless paste made with sour cream.  Yuck.  Thank goodness I’ve had the real thing.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

22 thoughts on “Avo Nice Day!

  1. I wish I liked avocados…I know that they're so good for you, but I can't bear the taste.
    The funny thing is that I make a really mean guacamole….one that my friends and family request all of the time and I despise it so bad, I make my husband be the taster so I can season it.
    I think its a texture thing…..

  2. Wow, I never knew that much about avocados. I certainly did not know there was a festival. You took great pictures and it sounds like you tasted some very different things. I like the things you chose to bring home. Sounds like a very fun and unique day that you had!

  3. Fun photos! I'm envious – the ones in our supermarket are almost always rotted. If we ever get to SD we will have our sights set on this for sure.

  4. You know, I don't think I've ever really had a proper avocado, or guacamole for that matter. Don't you love, though, the way people turn out for things that seem so mundane….but actually turn out to be lots of fun?

  5. Mmmm, avocados. I have had the most wonderful avocados since I have been here in Australia. Perfect ripeness, no brown spots or strings. And something good to crave during a pregnancy! I love mashed avocado with a sprinkle of salt on toast, on a salad, sandwich or just sliced up and eaten alone. Mmmmm, yum. Great photos!

  6. Yum, that sounds fun! You ought to start posting local events, you know so many of them! I'm a little bit conflicted about avocados, because while I normally believe in buying local as much as possible, a (farmer) friend told me it's a very thirsty crop, and therefore not so great to grow in drought-ridden San Diego. Not that it stops me from buying avocados… because I love them too much.

  7. One of my favourite foods — perfect mashed up with garlic salt on a lightly toasted bagel. My mouth is watering now, literally :)
    I'm afraid, though, that the avocados we get in IN are not from your lovely state.

  8. Yummmmm! My first quac was mixing an avocado with a seasoning packet and it tasted chalky and very chemical-ish. So I read the back of the packet and was amazed to find that I had the ingredients to make it (minus chalk and chemicals) and made my first batch of real guac. Have been making it ever since and love, Love, LOVE it! That festival looks like FUN!

  9. What a fun day you had. Where I used to live in NC, there was an authentic Mexican restaurant run and owned by a mother and her daughters, none of whom spoke English. Since I speak Spanish, I was able to order food there. She made the best sincronizada (sandwhich with grilled chicken breast and avocado in 2 soft warm tortillas). Not entirely sure about the spelling. My son makes them for himself now. They are his favourite. I love avocados, and they are so good for you. I miss authentic Mexican food so much. When I go back to the USA, I head for the nearest non-chain Mexican restaurant.

  10. Hapa — i don't know about you, but I have a hard time keeping up with local events. We don't get the UT and I don't think to check its website regularly. We found out about this because of a flyer at SDSU near the Beloved's office.

  11. Janette — it was definitely fun and the weather was just right for a big crowd — sunny, but not so hot as to make people grumpy. It was packed when we went (early afternoon) so I don't have any guesses on when the crowds might be smaller.

  12. Looks like a blast! I was thinking about making a trip down your way sometime in June for a weekend. We should eat guacamole!
    Also, my mom got me that same avocado ornament for Christmas last year to add to my ornaments-made-to-look-like-food collection. :)

  13. Oddly enough, I'm eating an avocado right now. I ate a bit too much pineapple earlier and I've learned something. If you eat enough pineapple to make your tongue just a little sore, an avocado will sting a little. Kind of reminiscent of the stinging sensation of a carbonated beverage when chugged. Things that make you go hmmm.I'm not surprised by an avocado festival. If there is a food, there is a festival for it somewhere. What did surprise me a bit was when I was in San Diego with a now ex-boyfriend and he took me up to Mt. Helix. All the streets in that neighborhood are named after avocados– varieties, brands, foods made with them. It was a little surreal. It was a gorgeous section, to be sure, but it would be a little weird to live at the corner of Hass and Cal-Avo. I wonder where Hannahbanana thinks her avocados were grown? I can assure her they aren't local. Hmmm.

  14. I only discovered avocados when I was 50 plus years old! Now I crave them like crazy! They are delish and these pics and story are great! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

