Donut Days

Apparently, today is National Donut Day which made me recall one of our stops last weekend during our trip to the Eastern Sierras.  You see what you may not be aware of is that in addition to Memorial Day this past weekend Bishop CA celebrated Mule Days.
Now Mule Days was new to me and according to their own website, it’s sort of difficult to accurately describe.
Every year during the Memorial Day Weekend, more than 700 mules compete in 181 events at the Bishop Mule Days Celebration. There is no way to actually describe Mule Days. It is part mule show, part test of skills, and part Wild West show. 

In the end, we decided not to attend Mule Days because dogs were not allowed on the fairgrounds and it was pretty hot on the valley floor where Bishop is and we couldn’t imagine leaving the Pennster in the car under those conditions.

Still, as we were heading home on Tuesday, we stopped in Bishop at the apparently “world famous” Schatt’s Bakkerÿ (which I nearly refused to enter as a protest to their unacceptable spelling and egregious umlaut use).  And I have to say I’m glad The Beloved encouraged me to, because what did we find?  

Mule-head donuts!
And we got two of the last three – and I must say, they were excellent.  Now you may be able to get a free donut at various places today, but I can guarantee that for a while when it comes to donuts, I'll be thinking of mules.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

8 thoughts on “Donut Days

  1. Schatt’s Bakkerÿ (which I nearly refused to enter as a protest to
    their unacceptable spelling and egregious umlaut use).So – they can't spell for Schatt?John

  2. which I nearly refused to enter as a protest to their
    unacceptable spelling and egregious umlaut use
    Oh, my! I
    laughed so hard at this. I think you just made my day!

    Those
    donuts look delicious! I brought a bag of powdered donuts to work today to celebrate
    the day.

  3. I loved your comment "Schatt’s Bakkerÿ (which I nearly refused to enter as a protest to
    their unacceptable spelling and egregious umlaut use)" :) Couldn't stop laughing! I also loved the pictures of the mule donuts :) They look delicious!

Leave a Reply

