Friday Drabble: Closure

Remember, a drabble is a very short story of exactly 100 words. Feel free to join in and write your own drabbles on Fridays and tag them with “friday drabble” and on Twitter with the hashtag #fridaydrabble.

Closure

The lake caught the day’s last shimmering light as they finished their walk in the cooling dusk.

“I’m glad you came,” she said softly. “After all the… those… horrible arguments, I wasn’t sure you would.”

He smiled warmly, “It’s been good.”  He exhaled, “I wondered… maybe we could… start ov-”

“No.”

“I thought when you asked me to meet you…” he tried to catch her eyes.

“Don’t you see? I didn’t want to remember you – us – like that.  I wanted us to be civil one last time, right?” She pleaded, “Don’t we deserve that?”

He turned to watch the sunset.

6 thoughts on “Friday Drabble: Closure

  1. Pingback: Discovered New Standard in Drabble | Story Treasury

Leave a Reply

