Friday Drabble: Puzzles

Remember, a drabble is a very short story of exactly 100 words. Feel free to join in and write your own drabbles on Fridays and tag them with “friday drabble” and on Twitter with the hashtag #fridaydrabble.

Puzzles

The late summer sun streamed into the porch where I sat with my uncle as we worked over a puzzle.  He, mentally retarded after a childhood accident and living with us.  Me, heading off to grad school in the fall.

I worked a piece and then left it free near where it would fit. “How was your day, Bill?”

“Good. You make any ‘splosions today in your lab, Stevie?” he laughed.  He laughed when he asked me this every evening.

“Not today,” I smiled.

Bill connected the piece I’d left and grinned triumphantly, “I’m good at puzzles!”

“You sure are.”

2 thoughts on “Friday Drabble: Puzzles

Leave a Reply

