30 DoB Day 5: A Book That Makes You Happy

I thought I’d tackle another question on the 30 Days of Books list:

Day 05 – A book that makes you happy

Well, this is sort of an interesting one, because I don’t usually do funny books (or funny tv shows or movies – I like being engaged, anxious and/or scared I think).  But there are some books that make me happy whenever I think about them – and the ones that pop into my head as I think about this question are those that have animals as protagonists.

Why animals?  I’m not sure – maybe it’s because I’m a besotted pointer owner.  Maybe it’s because I’m more whimsical than you’ll usually get me to admit.  And they make great protagonists.

Dog On It

One series is the “Chet and Bernie” mysteries by Spencer Quinn.  Chet Little is a detective (the Little Detective Agency, get it?) and is aided by his trusty dog, Chet.  Chet’s a great dog and great at sniffing out a clue.  Quinn’s writing style captures that alert, but slightly goofy attention span that I think that dogs have.  Reviews are here for Dog On It and Thereby Hangs a Tail.  His latest, To Fetch a Thief is high on my to-read list!

Three Bags Full

The other one that I always think of is Three Bags Full: A Sheep Detective Story by Leonie Swann.  Here a group of sheep, led by Miss Maple*, attempt to solve the murder of their shepherd.  It’s funny, I don’t think this was the greatest mystery, but Swann’s characterizations of the sheep have stayed with me a long time and always make me smile.  Maybe it’s the idea of a bunch of sheep, which I think are normally considered pretty dopey, coming to the rescue that amuses me so.

*smartest sheep in Glennkill, if not the world.

Come to think of it, maybe Swann’s book is one of the reasons that I’ve really enjoyed Shaun The Sheep.

Justice!

He makes me happy, too.

10 thoughts on “30 DoB Day 5: A Book That Makes You Happy

  1. Books with animals in them, especially dog-themed novels, tend to be sad, so I don’t read them very often. But lol at your “I like being engaged, anxious and/or scared I think.” I have similar tastes in reading, so mysteries, fantasy, sci-fi and horror pack my shelves. I have scant funny or “happy” novels, which is probably due to my aversion to chick-lit or overt satire. My kids say I simply have no sense of humor: but I think I’m just not entertained by something that’s constantly trying to make me laugh. I almost prefer the nervous laugh that comes out after a particularly scary scene in a book or movie.

    I’m currently reading “The Gargoyle,” btw. Very good novel—thank you for the recommendation.

Leave a Reply

