Friday Drabble: The Bear

Remember, a drabble is a very short story of exactly 100 words. Feel free to join in and write your own drabbles on Fridays and tag them with “friday drabble” and on Twitter with the hashtag #fridaydrabble.

The Bear

There hadn’t been another person all day and that was fine with me. I hadn’t taken this long hike alone to find conversation. I had a weighty decision on my mind.

As I passed the decomposing trunk of a downed sequoia, I heard snuffling and was startled as a bear emerged from behind the trunk. We stared at one another.

A few minutes passed – he sniffing, me watching.

“Okay, bear, time to move on…” I said finally.

He chose to turn, shambling with surprising quickness up the hillside. And with his absence, I discovered I had made my choice, too.

7 thoughts on “Friday Drabble: The Bear

  1. Loved it. Also it reminded me of a Native American tale – saying that you can speak to a bear and they will understand just what you tell the.

Leave a Reply

