Banks Shot

This year we’re heading to the beach for our vacation.

Now this wouldn’t seem like such big deal since when you live in San Diego, you’re never really that far from the beach. Now being a pale redhead, I am certainly not a sun-worshipper by any stretch, but we spend a pretty decent amount of time in and around the coast – taking Penny to one of the dog beaches mostly.

So, a staycation, right?

Beach Commute

Not quite. Tomorrow we head out across the continent heading to the Outer Banks of North Carolina and a house we’ve rented there for the week.  As a former Tar Heel it will be good to go back though I have to admit I rarely went to the beach when I was in Chapel Hill (it was too far away and as a grad student I was too poor and busy). I will say though that one of my goals is to see how many hush puppies I can consume in one week (dozens? hundreds?).

Beach Commute

This week’s vacation is an off-shoot of the one we had with my siblings at the Jersey Shore two years ago. This vacation though has an extra twist. In addition to my siblings, we’ve rented the house with the Beloved’s mom. Yes, that’s right – a mixed family and in-law vacation, which should keep things interesting, right? (Good idea? Bad idea? Just plain crazy?).  At least the house has a nice view.

Deck view

A look ahead at the 10 day forecast suggests that the rough heat wave that’s been incubating the East will break, but be replaced by what seems like a fairly steady stream of “Scattered T-storm” days. I guess that’s not so bad, if they’re scattered for like a half an hour a day and not that it’ll be raining throughout the entire day. Scrabble, anyone?

Cape Hatteras Lighthouse

Of course, I may never leave safety and comfort my deck seeing that the waters off the Banks have apparently become a feeding ground for black tipped sharks.  I’ll have to make sure that if I do go out in the water that there are some chubby little kids near me.

Anyway, things may be sparse around here for the next week and a half. Here’s to adventure!

22 thoughts on “Banks Shot

  1. Enjoy! We aren’t going to get back to the NC beach until late August. Already can’t wait. (Note double spaces).

    We recently did a week in Mexico with 14 family members. A great time and we’re all still speaking. :-]

  2. It would be 2,781 miles if you traveled in a straight line. You failed to account for the curvature of that arrow. So more time for you to enjoy!

    Have fun! :)

  3. You’ll be begging for one of those isolated thunderstorms when the heat and humidity hit you. Have fun! You’ll be very close to my family’s place, but we will not be there, alas. I’ll wave to you from Hampton Roads. You might want to check out this place: http://www.weepingradish.com/ Good beer, good food.

  4. Pingback: Life’s A Beach | Stevil

Leave a Reply

