Friday Drabble: The Ocean of My Youth

Remember, a drabble is a very short story of exactly 100 words. Feel free to join in and write your own drabbles on Fridays and tag them with “friday drabble” and on Twitter with the hashtag #fridaydrabble.

The Ocean of My Youth

The ocean of my youth is a turbid green churned with sand and foam. Breakers form and crash and flow to the shore and form again, both inviting and intimidating.

The smell is heat and sand and salt and sweat. Above, a cawing cacophony of gulls seeks out unprotected bits of popcorn and pretzel.

We excavate moats around our eroding sandcastles, sift for tiny crabs and watch them scurry from our fingertips to burrow back to their muddy homes. Later, we throw ourselves against the relentless waves, eventually emerging exhausted, pruned, and panting.

Can’t I play a little longer, mom?

6 thoughts on “Friday Drabble: The Ocean of My Youth

  1. I love this drabble, very evocative….and I rarely rarely went to the beach as a kid. My Dad was a 6 foot something freckled pale guy, and after one episode of actual sun poisioning (I still find it hard to believe he was hospitalized with that diagnosis), we never really went to the beach again! I had to discover the pleasure with my Mom.

Leave a Reply

