Friday Drabble: Storms

Remember, a drabble is a very short story of exactly 100 words. Feel free to join in and write your own drabbles on Fridays and tag them with “friday drabble” and on Twitter with the hashtag #fridaydrabble.

Storms

Lightning strobed the world into silhouette and thunder rattled the windows. Rain splattered in buckshot patterns. The wind in the chimney shrieked and fell off to a moan.

She’d caught Cassie skyping when she’d promised to study and that blew up into its own storm of accusations. You’re ruining my life. Drama queen. I hate you. The usual.

Except this time. No more, she thought. When Cassie rose, she’d slapped her. Hard. Her daughter looked momentarily dazed, then released an anguished howl and ran from the house into the tempest.

Now, she paced — her heart racing. Surely, she’ll come home.

14 thoughts on “Friday Drabble: Storms

  1. Studies say a rare spanking under the age of say 3 or 5 (rare and open-handed, etc.) is actually effective.

    Once you’re smacking a teenager, it’s for your own good, not theirs. :)

    • There’s actually no part of that which is autobiographical. I can count on the fingers of one hand the times my folks hit me. Lord knows I probably deserved it more… ;)

  2. Loved the scene-setting, Steve. You appear to have a true talent for that. I’d like to try Drabbles again but I think it takes a certain type of mind to make them worth reading. Yours are quite good…. ;)

  3. Frankly, I enjoy the notion of slapping anyone who doesn’t respect their parents. I would have been a terrible mother.

    This is good flash fiction – quick and compact. Well done!

  4. Nice! I like that she’s on Skype, specifically. Not because it sounds “current,” but because it’s real. And it evokes parental worries over a powerful tool of communication that can be used in ways one might not approve of at all.

    • Thanks phantomxii — I was trying to think, “what could a teen get in trouble for these days?” that would have been the equivalent of “talking on the phone” when I was a teen….

Leave a Reply

