Friday Drabble: Surf’s Up

drabble is a very short story of exactly 100 words. Feel free to join in and write your own drabbles on Fridays and tag them with “friday drabble” and on Twitter with the hashtag #fridaydrabble.

 

Surf’s Up

The sun transformed the surface into a galaxy of sparkling stars. Carrie inhaled deeply, paddling her surfboard about, awaiting a good wave – her workday worries forgotten at the shoreline. Sizing up the next swell, she didn’t see the shadow passing beneath her.

A nearby splash brought her reverie up short. Squinting against the glare, she missed the sinuous shape that crested and slipped beneath the surface. An abrupt countercurrent swept past her exposed foot and Carrie shivered, now fully alert.

Spotting the onrushing fin, a scream hitched in her throat.

The dolphin seemed to be smiling as it slid past.

12 thoughts on “Friday Drabble: Surf’s Up

  1. My Friday Drabble – Feed this to the dolphin . . . (Steve is there a way to add an image?)

    Oh, those Golden Pork Chops.

    I went to market to buy a fat pig. What I found was a mere remnant of a plump piggy’s loin. Encased in a shimmering wrap and nestled together like Siamese twins, a tasty meal for two tempted my palate.

    I scanned the meat case, no one lurking about. Not a soul to steal these delectable porcus bits. I picked up the dazzling white tray. I donned my drugstore specs, and to my horror, there boldly stamped, the price for a prince, not for a pauper . There would be no swine in this abode tonight.

  2. I am impressed with your ability to work in a twist in just 100 words! I was thinking, “oh! A nice story about a surfer. Lovely. Oh no! A shark attack story! Whew. Just a dolphin.”. Seriously. All those thoughts in the 20 seconds it took me to read. Well done.

Leave a Reply

