Friday Drabble: 3:16 a.m.

drabble is a very short story of exactly 100 words. Feel free to join in and write your own drabbles on Fridays and tag them with “friday drabble” and on Twitter with the hashtag #fridaydrabble.

3:16 a.m.

He was still, squinting in the dark, as if it might help his hearing.

Again. He’d woken up all week at the same time hearing a muffled voice. It sounded like an off-tuned radio, but he couldn’t determine the source. He’d strain to pick up words, but they wouldn’t form.

He knew he wasn’t crazy, and slowly a question formed in his mind. God? Could God really be speaking to him? Psalms said, “Be still, and know that I am God.” He calmed himself and opened his heart.

And found God isn’t the only thing that speaks in the dark.

13 thoughts on “Friday Drabble: 3:16 a.m.

  1. Demons, perhaps? Or, just an old filling in a tooth picking up almost audible radio broadcasts, this has happened to me in the past. Oh, both the demons and the radio – once saved, demons vacate, tooth pulled and no more transmissions.

  2. Dammit, Steve, I was just getting over the vivid zombie nightmare I had the other night, following the all-night listening for rats in the house. Now you’re going to have me listening for voices that I hope are figments of my imagination. (“Go away! I don’t hear you! Lalala!”)

    • HG — the worst part was that I wrote this out on Thursday and left the file open when I went to bed, figuring I’d re-read with a fresh eye on Friday morning, tweak if necessary and post.

      Well — I wake up in the middle of the night again, hearing sounds (it was the wind making the tree brush into the house). I turn off the light and the time was (no lie) 3:17. I then convinced myself that when I got back to the computer in the morning there’d be an extra line to the story that read:

      THAT’S RIGHT, STEVE, THERE ARE OTHER THINGS! AND WE WERE HERE!!

      (fortunately, that wasn’t the case… whew)

  3. They should put you in a suit and pipe and have you tell scary tales just before reruns of the Twilight Zone, Steve. That was spooky.

Leave a Reply

