Friday Drabble: Left

drabble is a very short story of exactly 100 words. Feel free to join in and write your own drabbles on Fridays and tag them with “friday drabble” and on Twitter with the hashtag #fridaydrabble. This one actually came from a very vivid (and disturbing) dream that I had the other night.

Left

He came down the slope, walking nearer to me. I read the black letters of his name marked over the mottled greens of his shirt. It was not his name.

I stared at the trail and pointed. He shook his head slowly.

“There is no good place left on earth,” he said.

Falling to my knees, my fingers gouged the soil. A sound started within me. A wailing anguish that left me hoarse and gagging. No birds took wing at my cry. No insects filled the silence after it. Only a metallic click as he moved behind me.

“Do it.”

18 thoughts on “Friday Drabble: Left

      • I have really bad dreams when I get too hot while sleeping. Always. And vivid dreams, I used Chantix to try to quit smoking (unsuccessfully) and had truly vivid dreams. It was very strange. I dreamed one night during this time that my mother, who passed away more than fifteen years ago and who I have not dreamed about other than during that time, came to visit and I knew in my dream that she was dead and I kept asking her what she was doing there. She giggled like a little girl which was very characteristic of her when she was alive and said, “Well, do you want me to leave?” I cried in my dream so hard and I kept trying to hug her because I miss her so much and she kept walking away and telling me that I couldn’t do that. When I woke up that night I was really crying and I could tell by my head already hurting, (I always get a head ache when I cry) that I had been crying for a while. Very vivid dream. Really freaked me out. I’m sorry you had this dream. I can only imagine how upsetting it must have been.

  1. It made me think of post – apocalyptic despair. That scene in movies where all hope is lost and the character just asks his friend to shoot him. Effective, Steve!

Leave a Reply

