Last month, amid a rapid-fire Twitter conversation, some friends and I decided to start an online movie club, Flick Buddies. The first month focused on Hitchcock films.

Flick Buddies

Steve here:

Marnie (1964)

Marnie was my choice in Flickbuddies for August’s Alfred Hitchcock theme. I thought it would be a movie that many people hadn’t seen and I liked that it involved a man from Philadelphia (like me) and a woman from Baltimore (like Kelly and Jenny). In many ways, Marnie is sort of an odd movie. The title character (played by Tippi Hedren) is a con-artist-thief who is set to prey on successful businessman Mark Rutland (Sean Connery). She’s also sent into a panic by a) lightning, b) the color red, and c) being touched romantically by a man. So, naturally, Sean falls for her. I mean, who wouldn’t?

Things I liked most: I actually liked the scenes where Marnie is a thief, more than the ones in which Mark is trying to “figure her out”. I’m also totally on Team Lil. Lil was Connery’s sexpot sister-in-law…

View original post 100 more words

Leave a Reply

