Friday Drabble: Golden Years

A drabble is a very short story of exactly 100 words. Feel free to join in and write your own drabbles on Fridays and tag them with “friday drabble” and on Twitter with the hashtag #fridaydrabble.

Golden Years

As a boy you asked us if pets had souls. I hemmed a little, telling you the idea that maybe they’re infused with the spirits of loved ones that have gone on before us. That made you happy.

So it’s with interest that I watch you now as a grown man answer that question from your own daughter. I smile as you tell her the same thing I told you.

You finish with her and come sit down, eying me inscrutably. I climb up next to you, burying myself and give you tail thumps as you scratch behind my ears.

19 thoughts on “Friday Drabble: Golden Years

    • HG — I never grew up with pets and Penny is my first dog. (Eubie was The Beloved’s dog and we were only together the last couple of years of her life.) I think having Penny has made me a lot more empathetic.

Leave a Reply

