30 DoB Day 4: Favorite Series’ Favorite Book

The next question in the 30 Days of Books list is:

Day 04 – Favorite book of your favorite series

Well, I think from Philip Kerr’s “Bernie Gunther” series, I would have to say that initial story in Berlin Noir, March Violets, is my favorite as it introduces Bernie and his world to us.  I also thought that the most recent one that I’ve read A Quiet Flame was very strong – probably my favorite since March Violets.  I won’t go into the story much as too many details would spoil aspects of the previous books – but it was a taut, well-paced and plotted mystery that provided a couple of gut-dropping moments.

A Quiet Flame

I also realized I was a little remiss in the Day 3 post about favorite series as I forgot to mention The Dark Tower series from Stephen King.  This has come up a couple of times recently, and I have to say that I was pleased that I read them after the series had concluded and not waited the couple of decades King took to conclude it.  It’s a very strong series – though I think a lot of folks get upended by the stylistic change between the early writing and the later books.

Wizard and Glass

To me though, the book Wizard and Glass is truly a standout, providing the reader with a wonderfully rich backstory to the protagonist Roland and the first real tantalizing hints about the scope of what’s to come in the rest of the series.

8 thoughts on “30 DoB Day 4: Favorite Series’ Favorite Book

  1. The Crystal cave strikes me as the best from Mary Stewart’s Merlin Series. I have enjoyed what I have read from the Dark Tower series so far (3 books) the first is the best, so far.

  2. Wasn’t there also a crazy long break between two of the books? I think that would’ve killed me. Have you read the Dark Tower-related books, too? (Especially Black House and Hearts in Atlantis?)

    • Kel — there was a 6 year gap between 3 & 4, and then ANOTHER 6 year gap between 4 & 5. I would have totally given up and been po’d. I’m very glad I came to it after it was done.

  3. I haven’t started the 2nd book of The Dark Tower yet but I have most if not all waiting. My nook (old one) is a bit of a PITA to navigate, so I’m most likely to read ONE book on it at a time.

    • I ususally only read one book at a time too — read one, listen to one audiobook in the car during my commute and then I usually have a set of short stories around as a “palate cleanser”… ;)

  4. I think I will have to check out the Kerr Mysterys! I am always on the look out for a good mystery….there are many mysteries out there, but not many that are well written…thanks!!!

  5. Pingback: Book Review and Giveaway: Field Gray by Philip Kerr - Man of la Book

Leave a comment